Contemporary Art Society

Encouraging an appreciation and understanding of contemporary art by a wide audience and donating works by important and new artists to museums and public galleries across the UK.


Strategic Initiatives

Annual Award 2013 winners with Contemporary Art Society Director Caroline Douglas, Chairman Mark Stephens, and award presenter Mark Wallinger.

Contemporary Art Society Annual Award

Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014 Shortlist Announced

The four shortlisted museums and their nominated artists for the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014 have been announced. The nominees are:

- Harris Museum & Art Gallery with Nathaniel Mellors

- Leeds Art Gallery with Becky Beasley

- Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art with Marvin Gaye Chetwynd

- Whitworth Art Gallery with Martin Boyce

Now in its sixth year, the prestigious £40,000 prize is one of the country’s highest value contemporary art awards. This unique commissioning award is presented by the Contemporary Art Society to a regional museum or public gallery with a nominated artist. The prize offers the winning regional museum the opportunity to commission a major new artwork for their permanent collection by an artist who is not yet well represented in museum collections in this country.

The winner will be announced at a special ceremony in London on 24 November 2014. The presenter and location of the 2014 award will be announced later in the year, with previous high-profiled presenters including Grayson Perry, Cornelia Parker, Jeremy Deller and Mark Wallinger.

The members of the Annual Award 2014 jury are: Paul Bonaventura (Senior Research Fellow in Fine Art Studies, University of Oxford), Helen Legg (Director, Spike Island, Bristol), Tom Morton (Writer, Curator and contributing Editor, Frieze) and Eva Rothschild (Artist).

Caroline Douglas, Director, Contemporary Art Society, said:
In a very strong year we are proud to have such a distinguished shortlist for our sixth Annual Award. It creates a unique opportunity for an artist to create new work for a museum and the panel’s selection includes highly regarded artists who are under-represented in public collections, particularly outside London. All the proposals are consciously rooted in the cities the museums serve and engage with audiences at all levels.

Panellist Tom Morton said:
The shortlisted museums and artists have all put forward ambitious commissions that would form a significant addition to any public collection. We were looking for work that people would travel to see and it is exciting to see museums proposing new works by artists whose practice includes less traditional disciplines such as performance and moving image.

For more information on applying to the 2014 award, contact: Robert Dingle, National Network & Strategic Projects Manager on +44 (0)20 7017 8405/

For all press enquiries, contact: Marcus Crofton, Communications Manager on +44 (0)20 7017 8412/


Member Log In

Forgot Your Password? Close